银器的复原与修复

就算是被良好照顾的银器也是不时需要修整的,在此我们提供多种服务给有需要的顾客。保养的工作基本上就是打磨银器的表面,在降低最小程度伤害的前提下,修整到原来的表面处理。也包含了去除生锈的部分,這通常是发生在一些古老的装盐巴的容器。手工清洁跟手工打磨一直以来都是在需要的时候所必须的工作。

修复在另一方面来说会让受損的部位看起来变新,或是使其看起来符合它的真实年份,并且不会让修复跟受損的痕迹被看出来。有时候也会需要作一个新的部分,例如:一个新把手、尖顶饰品或是一个(在被禁止之前购买的)象牙的隔热盖。

保存是另一个我们乐意提供帮助与建议的领域。有一些方法可以让物品不再进一步恶化。这需要把银器的表面密封起来,让它盡可能看起來是最佳状态。这对于充满装饰跟细节的物品是一个很有助益的方法。

我们常常收到的工作是移除一些格言、勋章样式以及徽章的花样。这往往需要一些考量。通常银器都很薄,而如果本来的刻纹品质良好,那一定会很深。於是要移除那些东西,就很可能会伤害银器本身。如果你摸那个格言的刻纹背后,你可以感觉到那些字的凸起,那很可能是因為这个银器很薄。有时候可以透过焊接一块新的银片去盖掉那些字,但是这样做是很难完全看不出焊接的痕迹。最后需要考虑的就是,有时候移除那些字,并不一定会让那个银器变得较好脫手,有时候那样做还反而会降低那个银器的价值跟吓走潜在的买家。

我们接过修理的工作,包含:修理古老烛台上的刻痕、更换铰鍊,还有平衡酒壶或是啤酒杯上的盖子,或是锁紧一些松掉的部分,像是尖顶装饰跟把手。

不论您想要一个全面的复原,或是只是一个快速的表面打磨,都请来我们店里跟服务人员洽谈。

Silver Restoration

From time to time even the best cared for silver will need some restoration work – there are a number of different services available to the owner. Conservation involves work on the actual surface of an object, doing the least amount of harm to the original finish. This also involves the removal of corrosion, very common with old salt cellars and cruets. Hand cleaning and hand polishing is always used whenever possible.

Restoration on the other hand will make any damaged area on your silver look new, or make it look its true age without any noticeable damage or repair. This could involve major reconstruction involving dent and scratch removal. It might also entail creating entirely new parts such as handles, finials and pre-ban ivory heat stops.

Preservation is another area we are happy to help with and advise on. Treatments are available that protect an object from further deterioration. This involves sealing the surface of the silver to keep the item looking as good as possible without regular intervention. It is very useful with highly ornate or delicate pieces.

A job we are asked about on a regular basis is the removal of monograms, armorials or crests. This always involves a bit of thought. With many objects the silver is simply too thin to be removing any more metal through polishing, especially if the original engraving is of high quality, and therefore often deeper. If you run your finger over the monogram from behind and you can see the surface of the silver ripple or move, there is a good chance that the silver is too thin. The monogram can sometimes be cut out with new silver being soldered into place, but it is very hard to make this undetectable. One final thing to consider is that removing a monogram will not necessarily make the item more saleable – in some instances it might actually lower the item’s value or put off potential buyers.

Other jobs we have undertaken in the past include repairing threads, often on old candlesticks, replacing hinges and levelling lids on decanters and tankards and tightening up loose components, such as finials and handles.

Whether you are looking for full restoration work or a quick polish, come in and talk though your requirements with one of our staff.

ENQUIRE HERE


  • You Might Also Like